SF Obscure: Space 1999

Smart Girls love SciFi

250px-Space1999_Year1_TitleSpace 1999 is one of those shows its taken me a while to write about because it’s taken me a a while to go through all the episodes. Don’t get me wrong- I don’t dislike it; as a matter of fact there are many things about it to like. Martin Landau. Maya is Season 2. The music. Lots of guest stars that have been on other series.

I have a great deal of respect for Gerry Anderson’s ground breaking SF work. “Supermarionation” the marionette style that is used in Anderson show is legend. I know people who swear by The Thunderbirds and Captain Scarlett.  I also covered Space Precinct which is, admittedly, campy but had some moments and an interesting concept even if the execution didn’t turn out so well.

But back to Space 1999.

Space 1999 is a British SF show from 1975 set in the high tech…

View original post 365 more words

3 thoughts on “SF Obscure: Space 1999

  1. I am so glad you will be continuing with this spot. As you may guess, I love it! It is one of my favorite segments over on Smart Girls love Sci-Fi. Thank you.

    As I mentioned over there, this is another that I have in my DVD collection. Mostly because of Martin Landau. What can I say? I am a total geek. Loved him in the original Mission Impossible and as Spock’s father.

    Anyway, thank you for keeping a favorite spot alive for me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

