Favorite things to do in winter

wednesdaybloggingchallenge-copy

I’m joining in on Long and Short Reviews Wednesday blogging challenge with some other romance writers.  So here goes…

Snow. I’ve spent most of my life in places with little snowfall. I love seeing photos and snapshots of wintery scenes-but perhaps I’m romanticizing things. I can look at movie or film with majestic winter settings within the comfort of a warm house. And shoveling snow which looks like an experience I can live without.  Occasionally, I get the opportunity to experience a dusting of snow and I always try to go out in it, just to feel the snowflakes hit my face. I might be imagining it but it seems as if the world gets quieter for the moments before a snowfall starts.

Cooking. I’m not an outstanding cook by any means, but in winter I don’t mind. I like the smell of food cooking and cold weather soups, stews, bread, and casseroles are comforting. And cookies. This is why I always gain weight over the winter.

Hot Chocolate.  I remember as a child my mother always bought those containers of Hershey’s cocoa powder.  I can still remember opening it up and smelling the chocolate. Of course, I was a fan of mini marshmallows Regular marshmallows were for making Rice Krispie treats and s’mores. I’m picky about my marshmallow rules. Every year, my family and I go to a night illumination show. Now, I love the exhibits, but I confess part of the reason I go is because of the more expensive custom made hot chocolate on sale. Godiva even lets you choose the amount of bitter in your chocolate.

unknown-1

What do you think? Do you drink hot chocolate? With or without marshmallows?

8 thoughts on “Favorite things to do in winter

  1. I’d never made hot chocolate without water ever until I met DH. He only makes it with hot milk. I know it seems like a small thing and maybe silly, but for me, it makes all the difference. I’d rather have hot chocolate with milk than water any day. Warms me up more.
    Oh, and I’m no gourmet cook either. B-)

    Like

    1. I wasn’t able to post on your blog, but I envy you the German Christmas market! That has to be wonderful.

      Like

Comments are closed.