Books I Loved and Never Wrote Reviews For

WednesdayBloggingChallenge-copy

This week’s challenge was a tough one. (Check out the others on Long and Short Reviews) I’ve written lots of reviews over the years for various sites and I am fairly consistent about leaving reviews on my kindle books as soon as I finish them. I know how much it means to the authors and how much it helps. I don’t leave reviews of DNF books or books I hated. If I write a review, it’s because I loved something and want to share.

There are a few books I read before the easy e-book age that I feel deserve more credit.

Barbara Neely’s Blanche series was out of print for a while; they are now readily available as downloads and worth every cent. I read the series, which is about a Black maid who solves crimes. It’s grittier than a cozy mystery, but not crime or noir. Blanche is insightful, intelligent, and a narrator that is easy to admire. I loved these books and I encourage fans of mystery to give it a try.

61UAD8eam-L._AC_UY218_

Liz William’s is a beautiful writer. I love her style and her creative mix of science fiction/fantasy/ surreal. Her books aren’t easy but every page is a treat. Banner of Souls is about technology that gets energy from the realm of the dead. And there is a famous warrior from Mars who uses the technology. 

51K7FlAxhqL._AC_UY218_

Just read it. It will make sense then. 

I mention this one mainly because I got this book as a Christmas gift some years ago. I love The Dark Crystal and the artwork. I am looking forward to Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance later this month. This is a truly beautiful book and just looking at the sketches and ideas and images that go into Froud’s deep creativity are astounding. 

51rLOpkM8wL._AC_UY218_

This was another Christmas gift. I loved Trisha Biggar’s designs. I enjoyed reading about how see thinks through her ideas as well as how she chooses the fabrics and motifs. 

51eFcArpuDL._AC_UY218_

BaseBanner_2019_blue copy

I’ve been out and about for the summer visiting family. And steady at work on my writing. I hope everyone is around for the Long and Short Reviews Anniversary party. Two of my books will be featured along with lots of other great ones.

EI_Terran1_web

16 thoughts on “Books I Loved and Never Wrote Reviews For

    1. I’m not sure this edition is still in print. So, it’s kinda gone up to an inflated price. With the new series, they may have one more reasonably priced.

      Like

  1. I am *such* a huge Dark Crystal fan, so naturally that one leapt out at me, but Banner of Souls looks really interesting, too.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.